Hendrix fans are waiting with bated for the 2013 release of ‘People, Hell & Angels,’ a new collection of unreleased Jimi Hendrix music. Last week, the release date, March 5, 2013, and the names of all 12 tracks were announced.

The songs were recorded in New York from 1968-69. At the time, Hendrix was experimenting with different musicians and musical textures. Although many of the songs feature Hendrix with the rhythm section of bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles, two songs (‘Izabella,’ ‘Easy Blues’) feature Larry Lee, an old friend from his days on the “chitlin’ circuit,’ on second guitar. Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell also pops up twice, and Stephen Stills plays bass on ‘Somewhere.’

“We’re thrilled to be able to release ‘People, Hell & Angels’ during the celebration of the 70th anniversary of my brother’s birth,” said Janie Hendrix, President of Experience Hendrix, L.L.C., via press release. “The brilliance of the album serves to underscore what we’ve known all along: that there has never been and never will be a musical force equal to his and that we cherish and take inspiration of what he left us both now and for many generations to come … simply eternity.”

Eddie Kramer, who engineered all three albums Hendrix released in his lifetime and worked on many of the posthumous compilations, oversaw the production of ‘People, Hell & Angels.’

Jimi Hendrix ‘People, Hell & Angels’ Track Listing:

‘Earth Blues’
‘Hear My Train A Comin”
‘Bleeding Heart’
‘Baby Let Me Move You’
‘Easy Blues’
‘Crash Landing’
‘Inside Out’
‘Hey Gypsy Boy’
‘Mojo Man’
‘Villanova Junction Blues’

[Dave Lifton, UltimateClassicRock.com]