I don't have to tell you this, but it's obviously super important to wear your seatbelt. No matter if you're going 1000 miles or just around the corner, accidents can happen at any time. (In fact, 50 percent of accidents happen within 25 miles of your home.)

broken black car on road in winter; crash accident; crumpled hood

It's so important to do that Michigan passed a law in 1985 saying that we're required to wear them. But, some people just don't like to be told what to do, nor do they care about the consequences of their actions. That's why Michigan Law enforcement team up every year for their annual 'Click It or Ticket' campaign

Click it or Ticket aims to help remind (and repremend) drivers who refuse to follow the law and wear their seatbelts. According to a release, the spring 2024 Click It or Ticket enforcement period for the state of Michigan is May 20 to June 2.

Read More: The City Wants to Put The Rapids Back Into Grand Rapids

Police will be out looking for motorists who are not wearing their seat belts, and if they're busted: it could cost you $65. While it's not a huge fine, it's still a friendly reminder to do the right thing. Avoid the fine and reduce your chance of injury or death in a crash by just clicking that buckle before you leave home.

Experts say that seat belts have saved 344,448 lives since 1975, and both local and Michigan State Police hope to help them continue to do so for many years to come.

The 12 Tickets That Do the Most Damage to Your Driving Record in Michigan

According to Michigan.gov, these are the 12 tickets in Michigan that will put the most points on your record.

Gallery Credit: Big Joe Pesh